It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2006, 11:14 AM   #1
(female)

happyhip HB User
total hip replacement 8 weeks ago - questions for you

Hello all, I'm very new to this. Having discovered this site and finding it so useful I thought I ask for some help. By the way I live in the UK. I'm doing well after having my op. which was an uncemented titanium and ceramic with plastic liner. Still on one crutch and walking around my home unaided when I feel up to it but now I'm getting bored! Walks are not enough now.
When do think I'll be allowed to go for bike rides again? I'm 44, other than dodgy hips I'm healthy, strong and mum to a nine year old, so I have to be active! Also if I did get into the bathtub how would I get out again without comprimising the 90 degree rule? I used to love my bubble baths. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Old 12-06-2006, 09:46 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Tobias HB User
Re: total hip replacement 8 weeks ago - questions for you

At 8 weeks, you are still recovering, even if you are bored! Boredom is actually a good sign in a way - it means that you are ready to begin to enjoy the mobility and pain relief that the THR will give you. But - you will continue to regain strength for months to come. Your doctor can advise you about specific activities and when it would be appropriate to begin them. For example it might be ok to start biking by using a stationary cycle for awhile and working up to a regular bike.