It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2007, 05:24 PM   #1
(male)

HopeAlight HB User
Sharp pain in knees after run & chronic joint pain?

23yo male, 145pds, 6ft

I went running last Sunday night (08-11), hadn't been running for about a year, during the last of my run I was getting some knee pain, I ran through it. Since then my knees (both) have been tense, day and night, inflamed with a sharp stabbing pain just below the knee cap and also on the insides (right side of my left knee, left side of my right knee). It's present so long as my knees are bending as they walk, laying still they don't produce it but remain somewhat throbbing, a dull pain, until I extend/contract my leg again. I have some history of knee problems:

1. In February '06 my right knee buckled doing leg extensions, I had been lifting for a couple months, the leg dropped unexpectedly on my first set, I couldn't lift just the bar with it, in the next weeks I began running lighter and eventually stopped running to go on a bike, some weeks after that I stopped biking as my knees were giving me a discomfort; a sharp pain, dissimilar to what I have now however. I haven't lifted, ran, or biked since June '06

2. In June '07 my right knee began having a sharp, stabbing pain after sitting for sometime (1+ hrs), only when I moved/shifted my leg while seated. That is after sitting for awhile I would reposition my knee and upon doing so I'd be greeted with a sharp pain the same as I'm having now, once my leg was steady and unmoving the pain would dissipate. It would go away eventually however after sometime (that moving the knee would produce pain, as I walked away from my desk for the day it would slowly go away), and didn't continue throughout the day while walking as it has for the past week.