It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2008, 07:25 AM   #1
Veteran
(female)

Larimergirl HB UserLarimergirl HB UserLarimergirl HB User
Pain on Non-operated Side after Hip Replacement Surgery

Hi. I'm getting ready to go to see my surgeon for my 8 week post-op visit on Thursday of this week.

One issue that has arisen in the last few weeks is pain/overuse of non-operated leg. I do have some arthritis in left hip and knee but it was not as advanced as my right hip. Now, 8 weeks after the operation on the right hip, I find my left knee is really sore. It was checked out right before surgery and no change in condition found--also I have really tight muscles in glutes on left side (piriformis I think). I have been icing the knee. I really hope that most of my soreness is due to overuse-I have a slight leg length imbalance (about 1/4 inch) and feel just a bit out of balance when I walk. So when I walk am coming down more heavily on left side. I'm using a cane still when out in public though I think won't need it for much longer. Anyone else have such experiences? Any encouraging word or tips?

I was hoping surgery on right hip would give me a pain free interlude eventually....Just worrying that knee will get worse and that I'm just falling apart.

Thanks.

Maggie

Old 09-29-2008, 12:31 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Silver Swan HB UserSilver Swan HB UserSilver Swan HB UserSilver Swan HB UserSilver Swan HB UserSilver Swan HB UserSilver Swan HB UserSilver Swan HB User
Re: Pain on Non-operated Side after Hip Replacement Surgery

Hi Maggie: