It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2008, 09:19 PM   #1
(female)

ahabt HB User
hip replacement recovery questions

Hello, I've just been scheduled for hip replacement surgery--a blessed event after several years of acute and worsening pain (osteoarthritis + an injury to my left hip five years ago, followed by *really* bad arthritis). I'm going to have orientation classes with my HMO, but not until a few weeks beforehand, and I'm trying to get a sense of what to expect in the recovery period. I'm a college teacher in my early 60's, live alone with a little dog but have quite a few friends willing to help out. I have lots of banked sick time, but probably not enough to take the whole semester off. Right now my plan is to start the semester in January, have subs for 4 weeks and then get back to work. My sister is coming from out of town to stay for about a week. I'm wondering--
1) A week after surgery, am I going to be able to manage alone in my apartment, given that friends can come help out, do errands and grocery shopping? (Mostly evenings and weekends--the people I know who drive and don't work are a very short list).
2) I'm assuming it will work out OK for the dog to be with me from the time I'm home from the hospital--he's a tiny toy dog, trained to a pee-pad and doesn't actually need to go out. In the past, he has never wanted to go out walking with anybody but me, and in the past year I haven't been doing much of that. (Later on, of course, he gets lots of good walkies and will be very happy indeed.)
3) My apartment is all on one level, but there are six steps up to the front door. Is this going to be a problem? If so, for how long?
4) Am I going to need transportation to and from rehab? Or is this normally an in-home thing?