It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2010, 05:12 PM   #1
(female)

Connie620 HB User
Still Much Pain & Swelling 9 wks. Post-op TKR

Hello All,

This is my first time to post with a question. I had Rt. TKR 9 weeks ago and have really had a rough time. First of all, this was the most painful surgery I've ever had and I've had many.. 4 lumbar surgeries including a fusion that ws quite complicated. I also have other health issues...Fibro, an inflamatory thyroid disease called Hashimoto's. Chronic daily back pain for at least 8 years. From the get go the Ortho. said this would be tough for me. but I didn't realize how tough.

I managed to get through PT and was able to reach all of the goals set for me. The Doc ws pleased with that. Right after surgery I was so swollen it even swelled in the opposite leg. It was in the most pain I had ever been in. I also had to have two units of blood post op and verry low BP.

I went along with what ever the PT's said to do, but there were times when I felt excruciating pain and begged them to slow it down a bit. Every time I had therapy the pain and swellinng were so bad I'd be in bed for a day and a half. Now, when I do any of my home exercizes my knee flares up and gets very hot and turns red and almost purple. Just walking around is very painful. I thought the pain would be better by now. So, I was wondering if anyone else has had similar issues after TKR. I'm not sleeping well and am having some depression. Would really appreciate and input.

Thanks so much,
Connie

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-23-2010, 05:49 PM   #2
(female)

alohadebk HB User
Re: Still Much Pain & Swelling 9 wks. Post-op TKR

I am only about 3 1/2 weeks post-op from LTKR, but if you have a hot, red, swollen knee you may have a serious complication. I'd go see your surgeon ASAP if I were you.