It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Knee & Hip Problems Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2012, 06:53 AM   #1
(female)

booklovin HB User
Need advice on possible TKR

I am really confused about the best thing to do in my situation and would appreciate any advice. I am 52 and also about 100 pounds overweight. I graduated last May with a BSN and started working as a floor nurse on a busy med-surg floor. My right knee has been really hurting me so I made an appt with an ortho doctor expecting to get a prescription for a stronger pain reliever. He looked at my X-ray and said I've got nothing for you except a total knee replacement. You are bone on bone, the pain will just get worse and there is nothing else to be done.
I decided to go see another doctor. I went to see the one best known in town for doing TKR and he told me to put the surgery off as long as I could stand it, started me on a series of 3 shots, gave me a glucosamine supplement, told me to walk as little as possible, lose wight, and do non weight bearing exercise and come back in 3 months for a repeat x-ray.