HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Knee & Hip Problems (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/knee-hip-problems/)
-   -   put it off as long as possible. (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/knee-hip-problems/905175-put-off-long-possible.html)

ricpope 06-15-2012 03:52 PM

put it off as long as possible.

am scheduled for the right TKR. have been trying to get it done for about 6 years. the ortho doc told me to put it off as long as possible. got the chicken shots in the knee, got arthroscopic done. at this point the doc said you need a TKR. this was NOV 2011, almost a year later i am having it done. i have been complaining about this for almost 8 years. after the right one is done i will have the left one done. i look forward to no more pain every day.

SweetPeainSF 06-16-2012 11:48 PM

Re: put it off as long as possible.

It sounds like you have made a well-considered decision. I hope that your surgery and recovery go well! (I've had plenty of surgeries myself, but fortunately have not need a new knee.) I suggest taking very little with you to the hospital, just personal grooming items and something to wear home. Make sure that your wear-home outfit is easy to put on ("bad" leg first).

I would also bring an eye mask and a pair of earplugs. I got little sleep in the hospital, due to chatty family members and nurses in the hall outside my door.

If your hospital or doctor offers a TKR class, I would certainly attend it.

ldy12 06-18-2012 08:53 PM

Re: put it off as long as possible.

Hi ricpope,