HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Knee & Hip Problems (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/knee-hip-problems/)
-   -   partial gluteus medius tear (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/knee-hip-problems/911708-partial-gluteus-medius-tear.html)

cestds3 07-27-2012 10:59 PM

partial gluteus medius tear

Hi. I'm new to the site but am desperate to hear what others have done to help. I was diagnosed a few months ago.with a partial tear of my right gluteus medius and origin of vastus lateralis. I'm a 38 year old nurse that is not into sports. My ortho/sports medicine doc wanted me to do therapy. I've tried cortisone injections,nsaids, and various topical creams with no help from the pain. Therapy was going good for about a month but now tonight I'm in horrible pain again. Has anyone noticed their pain increases with higher humidity? I really just want to be pain free again! Has anyone had the surgery to repair and if so is the pain gone? My surgeon is reluctant to do surgery and said it would be open though I have read it can be done endoscopically. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm so tired of hurting!

Iota 08-05-2012 04:01 PM

Re: partial gluteus medius tear

Hi, I'm also new to the site, having just been diagnosed via mri with gluteal medius and minimus partial tears. I was misdiagnosed as pain referred from spinal causes and so have had no relief from treatments. I can't offer help until I get some myself,but I offer empathy. I can only walk a short distance and used to be an active 70 yr old, even a tango dancer up until 2 yrs ago. I too am looking for info about repair surgery. From what I've read, it's rarely done and in its infant stages. If anyone knows of sports docs in Santa Fe or anywhere in Southwest, I'd be grateful to know. I hope you find someone too.

candyg920 10-21-2013 01:13 PM