It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Learning Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2004, 05:49 AM   #1

Paine HB User
Math disorder?

Does a math disorder even exist?

Because I strongly feel that I have some kind of math dyslexia or other problem in my brain when it comes to math.

All my life I've had trouble with math. When I was 4 I took a test and I was "beyond my years" smart in every single subject except math. I was pretty much retarded in that area. And it remains that way even now. I graduated high school with a 3.8 magna *** laude, and I go to college and can get A's in everything with relative ease.

But for some reason, I just cannot do math at all. I really really try (when in other subjects I don't need to try at all), but I just cannot compute anything. In college one of the requirements is remedial math, Math 100. I've taken this course 3 times now and I've been with tutors, took extensive notes, read the book, took practice exams, and still, I can't get any grade higher than an "D-."

Anyway, this is extremely depressing me, to the point of suicide. I cannot graduate college bc I cannot pass that class (you need at least a C for it to count). My life is at a standstill. I feel that I am worthless bc I cannot do math which to everybody else is no problem at all.

If anybody knows anything about a math disorder existing, I'd really like to hear about it.

Old 03-21-2004, 06:29 AM   #2
Inactive

little726 HB User
Re: Math disorder?

Yes, Paine, there is a math disorder called dyscalculia (math dyslexia). I've had the same problem all my life. I can't do anything with numbers unless I use a calculator. I always thought it was "me". But I found out it is a learning disability. I read where it is more common in females. Check this website out dyscalculia.org. It has loads of information on this disorder. Good luck, Robin.