It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Learning Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2006, 11:04 AM   #1
(female)

Jeanne211 HB User
Anyone have any insight?

For as long as I can remember, I have forgotten words. Even simple words such as chair or lightbulb. I am also horrible at remembering new words. My vocabulary is very small, especially considering that I am a university graduate. I also forget people's names, even my brother's name. I also use words such as it, them or that when I am speaking about objects. The problem is, no one knows what I am talking about because I didn't name the object.

I have no problem with written language however. I have acquired many English awards in highschool, and learned to read at a young age. While my writing is quite messy, my printing skills are average.

I had problems taking notes in university. Most of my notes were full of half completed sentences. Also, when I take notes, I miss everything the professor said while I wrote the sentence.

I can be listening to someone speak, but not understand what they are saying. I often say "Pardon?" when they are done speaking, and then figure out what they had originally said right afterwards. I cannot follow long conversations. This really bothers my husband because I either interrupt him to say something before I forget or I answer with a single word to his conversation.

I have difficulty watching television and often need to have subtitles on. In movie theatres, I have to plug my ears in order to hear the movie (sounds weird, I know). I cannot hear people speaking if there is background noise. I try to speak above background noise, but am accused of yelling by my husband.

I have no sense of direction. I also cannot follow directions easily. They need to be written out for me or else I forget.