It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Learning Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2012, 09:02 PM   #1
(female)

Twisted Metal HB UserTwisted Metal HB User
motor skills/hand eye coordination...

I have no motor skills or hand eye coordination I guess. I have a very hard time driving, I can't parellell park i just dont understand how t use the mirrors or know how much to turn the wheel, or how to change lanes or merge, its just two many things to flow together. I have horrible awful messy handwriting that has not improved since I first started writing (I'm 24) I don't understand body mechanics like how to lift with your legs (witch is becoming a problem for me now I am a nurse aid and do a lot of lifting and my back hurts everyday i know i am doing damage) I can't do a sit-up I just do not understand how to do it without using my back. I have never been able to cut food weather it is meat or a carrot or peel an orange I just can't coordinate myself to do it. Nothing i do is neat like folding clothes. i am very clumsy with sports I have bad posture and I think I walk with my feet sort of pointed in. These are all things I have never been able to do correctly and it all really hurts my selfesteem especially the driving and I know people wonder why I can't do any of these things right like when people look at me trying to peel an orange or something and tell me i am doing it dangerously. A lot of times I try to avoid all of these things. My therapist suggested I have a motor skills disorder because my father was an alcoholic or it is a lack of confidence from being depressed and traumatized my whole childhood and life. I don't know, the older I get now the harder it is to live like this and have confidence. People think I am stupid when they see all the things I can't do. Does anyone know any ideas why I am this way or how to fix it or what causes this. How