It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Liver & Pancreas Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-31-2008, 12:25 AM   #1
(female)

joddjohnson HB User
Question Dad won't see the doc, lost and scared

Hello everyone. I am new to message boards all together but am hoping i can get this figured out. My Dad is 55yrs old and has been drinking for around 30 +/- a few yrs. He is an obvious alcoholic but tries to sppear fine. Since 12 he has been telling me he thought he has cancer, ect. I am now 24. I am not able to see him very often but have noticed certain things about him. in the past few years I have heard comments about his wieght (loss), seen his depression increse, lack of will towards life, he seems to get tired easily but tries to hide it, he eats but he doesn't seem to get anything out of it(like he does it as a tradition on holidays or occansional lunches) but I am fairly unaware of his eating habitts other than that, one of the main things that I have noticed is the jaundice look, and the newest of all of them is the abcess/cist looking bumps. He has had one on his face, back, wrist (now supposedly gone), and ankle. I know that jaundice is a liver related issue but am also afriad to jump to conclusions. Does anyone have any helpful input? Also on stages, features, prognosis. I can't seem to find enough of what I am looking for on the web in general.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-31-2008, 06:09 AM   #2
(female)

iluvwv HB Useriluvwv HB User
Re: Dad won't see the doc, lost and scared

hi. welcome to the board.
does your dad ever go to the dr? you need to try and get copies of his lab work so you can figure out what is going on.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-31-2008, 05:49 PM   #3
(female)

joddjohnson HB User