It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Liver & Pancreas Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2009, 07:33 PM   #1
(male)

liverdude HB User
Swollen liver

I'm male, 33, I've been drinking way too much for more than 5 years.

Not surprisingly, last week for the first time, I have upper right quadrant pain above my liver. I'm totally freaked out. I know, I know, I deserve it. I know.

But my question is- is it possible that if I just stop drinking, a swollen liver will go away, or does this automatically mean I have something bigger like cirrhosis or cancer or something. (I have no other symptoms, no jaundice, etc. Maybe a headache and nausea but that's from being a hungover idiot drinker.)

So, simplified: Is there such a thing as a swollen liver that just goes away if I stop drinking? Or is a swollen liver always a bigger problem?

thanks. I'm an idiot, I know.

Old 07-12-2009, 07:51 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

feelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB Userfeelbad HB User
Re: Swollen liver

we all live and learn, the key here is to LEARN from this ya know? the very first thing you really have to do here is actiually find out if this IS a big or smaller type issue by seeing your primary doc for some simple bloodwork done on your liver. this will really show just how well the functions are and that is what you really NEED to know right now. just because your liver may be swollen it does not mean it is automatically really bad. it could be inflammed and made better by stopping what is actually inflamming it, but you just have to find out those functions too.