It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Liver & Pancreas Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2010, 10:21 PM   #1
(male)

tnmsc83 HB User
AST/ALT <1, should I worry about these numbers?

I got my lab results today and noticed my AST/ALT ratio is almost exactly 0.5. My AST is 43 and my ALT is 85. And my white and red blood cell counts were both flagged as low (for as long as I can remember I have been fatigued and generally sluggish, and I am now diagnosed anemic). RBC count was 4.25 and WBC was 3.7. My doctor doesn't seem worried at this point but I'm freaking out thinking my liver is going to shut down at any minute. Am I over-reacting? Are there any useful links between the AST/ALT ratio and the cell counts being low?

Old 07-02-2010, 07:35 PM   #2
(male)

FancyKetchup HB User
Re: AST/ALT <1, should I worry about these numbers?

As I always like to say, I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on the Internet.

With that out of the way, it sounds to me like your liver still has plenty of miles on it. Your AST is indeed a tad high (for most of the population, that is, although there are some outliers for whom that number might be normal or at nearly-normal). But different factors can make that number rise or fall, so you want to look at your recent reading as a mere snapshot that doesn't tell the whole story of what - if anything - might be going on with your liver. How are your blood protein and albumin levels? More than AST/ALT levels, these indicate if the liver is working properly. Regarding the ratios of AST to ALT, I'm not aware that these have any great significance other than that, in drinkers, if the ratio is >1 and especially in the neighborhood of >2, then alcohol-induced liver damage is the likely cause.