It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Liver & Pancreas Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2012, 12:09 AM   #1
(male)

Alue HB User
Quitting alcohol, liver ache

So, about a month ago I decided I needed to cut down on my alcohol consumption. Before that time I had been drinking alcohol for the past 2 years and kind of heavily for the past 9 months. I am in my late 20s. I had cut back drastically and hadn't had anything to drink until last week. I drank one evening and started having a dull pain just below my right rib cage. I had yellow stool the day after and it's been a week since the last time I drank and now my stool had turned green. The discomfort really hasn't gone away and I'm getting worried. The dull ache is still there and I feel kind of bloated. I'm also wondering about my iron levels. I am male and had been taking multivitamins containing iron along with alcohol.

I know I need to go to the doctor and get blood work done, but the soonest appointment I could make is a month and a half out. I think I'm done with alcohol altogether, I don't want to put my liver at risk anymore. I will go see a doctor, but I just don't know what to do in the meantime. I called a number of places and most are booked for several months.
Is there anything I can do in the meantime while waiting to see a doctor?
Is it common to get symptoms after quitting drinking (but not during)?

Old 07-11-2012, 04:37 AM   #2
(male)

pbt140 HB Userpbt140 HB Userpbt140 HB Userpbt140 HB User
Re: Quitting alcohol, liver ache

yes a doctor's visit should be in your future.

>
Green stool could a symptom of iron and is usually a result of supplements. An easy way to check is to stop the supplements and see if the stool returns to normal color. (that is unless your doctor put you on supplements).