It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Liver & Pancreas Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2012, 03:03 PM   #1
(female)

meblonde HB User
Are these numbers ok?

I have been a drinker for many many years.. quitting for a year here, and a month or two here and there.. I sort of sick of it and feel like I want to quite for good.. My lab work was just done and my number are as follows.. I think they are ok but not sure what they mean.
Bilirubin 0.2-1.0 mine was total. 1.1
ALT 12-78 mine was 49
AST 5-37 mine was 22

I hoping these are good number and I can stop this stupid habit knowing I have not damaged my liver. Thank you for any reply..

Old 11-29-2012, 06:18 PM   #2
(male)

BillinSD HB UserBillinSD HB UserBillinSD HB UserBillinSD HB UserBillinSD HB UserBillinSD HB UserBillinSD HB UserBillinSD HB UserBillinSD HB User
Re: Are these numbers ok?

Hi meblond, I'm not a doctor but your labs certainly wouldn't stand anyone's hair on end... They actually look very nice for a moderate drinker. The bilirubin is just outside the normal range, but only by a whisker. Most doc's don't sweat a single/minor out of range result, but this does indicate something you might want to keep track of with a retest in 3 or 6 months rather than waiting a year for your next routine labs. High bilirubin over a series of tests might indicate a need for further diagnostics.