It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lung & Respiratory Disorders / COPD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2004, 07:27 AM   #1

debtman7 HB User
low grade bacterial infection?

Hi,

I've been having problems with shortness of breath lately. It started when I had a cold about a month ago, and at the time I thought it was due to sinus congestion. I had a pretty bad sinus infection and an ear infection and was on a ceftin derivative for 14 days to clear that up. Through this the shortness of breath persisted. I also tend to have anxiety problems when it comes to my health, so I convinced myself that I was just worrying too much and went on with my life.

On thanksgiving day my shortness of breath got much worse, coincidentally this was the day after I had finished my course of antibiotics. I have been smoking for about 4 years and I got fed up and decided to quit right then. The next morning I bought the patch and have been smoke free the last 12 days. Unfortunately the shortness of breath still persists, and immediately after quitting smoking I developed a productive cough that brings up clumps of brown gunk. I had heard that quitting will often make you short of breath and create a productive cough as your lungs heal, so I didn't think too much of it.