It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lung & Respiratory Disorders / COPD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2005, 03:26 PM   #1
(female)

GypsyInk HB User
Question Bronchitis to Pneumonia

Hi,

My name is Adriana and I'm a college student on Long Island. Recently a few of us came down with the flu here in the dorm. I, thinking I could battle it, didn't take anything and went on my merry way. However, after the cough got bad enough I'd have two minute coughing sprees and my general state of feeling horrible got worse and having a low grade fever continued, several of my friends became motivated to very literally forced me to go get it checked out. That little form of what I thought was the flu apparently was a full fledged manifiestion of a bad case of bronchitis, or so the clinic doctor told me.

Being a college student I have extremely poor medical coverage (which to our joy keeps lapsing). At the doctors office several friends and myself had to cough up, no pun intended, $135 dollars straight up for my doctor visit and two lab tests. As of now I have no way of getting the antibiotics perscribed for me. I'm financially down for the count as it is going to school.

In the real scheme of things I'm less worried about combating bronchitis as I was told most of the time it's viral and antibiotics can't do much, if anything for it. I'm initally worried that, however, if I do get worse (and I'm pretty bad as it is now) this might manifiest into pneumonia, or so several of my pre-med friends seem to keep hinting at if I attempt to keep fight this on my own.