It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lung & Respiratory Disorders / COPD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2005, 09:54 PM   #1
(male)

musicman2 HB User
breath sounds while only moving torso??!

hello everyone,

newbie here. i am a 22yr old male. This is my question:

While standing up straight and keeping my head straight forward, when I move just my torso back and forth I get a rather audible breath/lung sound, however I am not actually taking a breath. Is this just a normal sound due to my body moving in this way or should I seek some medical attention?

thanks,

mm

Old 05-31-2005, 01:47 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

quincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB Userquincy HB User
Re: breath sounds while only moving torso??!

Hi, it's normal...i've noticed it happens to me when I'm doing some exercises where I twist from side to side.

Breathing happens from the muscles and ribs expanding and contracting. It's the movement that brings in the air and exhales it. So, possibly when you lean back and forth, it would cause a compression therefore exhaling air and if you go back to the original position, the air will come back in. Not like a real breath that is enough to fill the lungs.

Actually, I thought it was kind of cool when I did that. I never thought there was anything wrong with it tho..just cool how the body works.

hope this helps put it in another perspective,
quincy

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-31-2005, 04:43 AM   #3
(male)

musicman2 HB User

quincy...thanks for the reply.

and also...when i said that i was moving my torso...i was in fact twisting from side to side...

Old 05-31-2005, 08:55 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

flintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB Userflintrock HB User