It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lung & Respiratory Disorders / COPD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2009, 09:55 PM   #1
(female)

vrmcg1 HB User
Couphing up phlegm

I don't have a question and I'm not a doctor, but I have some possible answers for all of you phlegmers out there based on my past experiences. I have been full of phlegm for years now and my doctor found at least two reasons other than asthma, common cold or upper respitory infection.
1) I have GERDS. GERDS can cause copious amounts of phlegm and can come up in different consistancies and colors. The lungs and esophagus can fill with a fluid when they go into protection mode against stomach acid. It can sometimes feel like you are going to drown in your own fluid there is so much phlegm. If the acid does make it into your lungs, it can cause a bacteria problem and cause the phlegm to turn different colors. Sleeplessness and a feeling of helplessness can insue due to the lack of sleep caused by the constant coughing. And, you really don't need the actual acid to come up, all it takes is the gas from the acid. Proper diet can help, but if you can't control it with the proper diet, Nexium or other acid blockers can lessen the acid, thus, less acid, less fluid/phlegm.