It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lung & Respiratory Disorders / COPD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2011, 01:29 PM   #1
(female)

Sweetlife12 HB User
Question Low peak flow reading, but don't have asthma???

Hi everyone!!

I am 5'8, 116lbs & don't have asthma. I went into my doctor a couple of weeks ago because I was feeling like couldn't breathe well....thought maybe I had a cold. She had me do a peak flow reading and I have never done one before & the reading was in the 200 something range.....she said I had bronchitis and sent me home with albuterol. Later in the week I was having shortness of breath & ended up in the ER.

They did a lung x-ray and said everything looked fine...I was getting enough oxygen when they did the reading on my finger, however my peak flow reading was still low I guess. In the 300 range.....after the breathing treatment it was around 350.

The ER doc advised that I go to see a pulmonary doctor since my reading is below normal.

I also have extreme inflammation on the inside of my nose every time they take a look. When I was younger I went to see an allergist and they did not find any allergies.

I do have an appointment with the pulmonary doctor in a few weeks, my question until then is......how could my reading be sooo low if I don't have asthma or known allergens, yet my peak flow is low and my nose is inflammed.

I just took my reading today and it is 375???

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks!!

Also, I recently delt with an h.pylori infection & have had strep throat about 4 times!!!

Last edited by Sweetlife12; 04-06-2011 at 01:32 PM.

Old 04-06-2011, 06:47 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

janewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB Userjanewhite1 HB User