It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lung & Respiratory Disorders / COPD Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2013, 08:48 AM   #1
(female)

donnadb040 HB Userdonnadb040 HB User
Cough for FOUR MONTHS

I have had a chronic cough for 4 months! I am not a smoker... never have been. Had all the PFT testing done and it all came out normal. Now, I have develped SEVERE bronchial spasms that are not improved by any of the standard asthma meds (albuterol, spiriva, flovent, etc). I've been on steroids for 4 months now and just seem to be going downhill! I feel like I am dying and no one seems to know what is wrong with me! I cant even talk (and I'm a speech therapist) because talk=cough! Narcotic cough meds don't help! Here is a list of all the meds they have tried to no avail:
Spiriva, Advair, Flovent, Albuterol, Tessalon Perles, Steroids, Antibiotics, singulair and on and on and on! I'm at my wit's end and don't know how to proceed to try and find an answer! Any advice would be greatly appreciated~!

Old 04-15-2013, 10:07 AM   #2
(female)

Peanut1250 HB User
Re: Cough for FOUR MONTHS

Hi, are you on any other medications for other issues? If so check the side effects of them especially B/P meds as they usually make people cough.Could it be allergies ? Have you thought about seeing an ENT? Do you use a humidifier ?
Just throwing some suggestions out there.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-15-2013, 10:34 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

solofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB Usersolofelix HB User

Hi,

Acid Reflux and Hiatal-Hernia can make you cough.
My husband cough's really bad when he has Reflux and I cough with a Hiatal-Hernia when it play's me up.
Wishing you well,

Solofelix.

Old 04-17-2013, 11:59 AM   #4
(female)