It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2006, 08:07 PM   #1
(female)

hivesincali HB User
Unhappy I'm scared...could this be lupus?

Hi Everyone, this is my first time posting. I apologize in advance for the length. I am writing because I am afraid I could have Lupus and wanted to get opinions from people who has dealt with it. here is my background....healthy lifestyle all my life, healthy girl - no autoimmunity, no family history of autoimmunity. 1 1/2 years ago I was at someone's house who had two cats to (I am allergic and had the regular allergic reaction). Within days my immune system went into overdrive and started producing hives - chronic hives - that have lasted 1 1/2 years. Last Jan 05 I had a plethora of testing to see if anything was underlying and everything was negative, including the ANA (.4) and thyroid. I had no other symptoms other than hives. I figured it would just "burn itself out someday" like it says in the literature. Flash forward - I had a kenalog shot (steroid shot) to calm the hives this past summer '05. Things were looking better until I noticed strange bumps (small and painful if I pushed them) on my index finger shortly after the hives that hurt, but I though nothing of them. They came and went and, then reappeared I didn't really think about them. They almost seemed like underdeveloped warts under skin. Maybe around October I started noticing random joint pain in my knees. It didn't last long, and would come and go (both sides). It kind of lingered for month but lasted 15-45 minutes at a time. I also started noticing tenderness/soreness in both butt/gluteus muscles. This was more chronic - kind of always there, but worse at certain times, usually night. In the last month or so, the joint pain migrates around to a wrist occasionally, but usually knees and hips. There is no arthritis, swellin