It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2006, 11:02 PM   #1
(female)

gbmccaw HB User
Lupus with Coughing

Hello all, I've been diagnosed with Lupus with Sjogren's 4 years ago. I've been taking Plaquenil and Prednisone. However, I've been coughing like crazy for two months now. I've been going to my Primary doc. He is not my rheumy doc and won't be seeing my rheumy doc in March. My Primary doc thinks it is cause by lupus and want me to increase my Prednisone. I currently taking 5 mg. and he wants to increase higher doses and I'm very reluctant to take high doses since i've been on prednisone for four years and getting worried of what it might do to my body. Also, he keeps second guess of my cough and he also thinks I have asthma. so he give me some medication to take like Tessalon, and Flovent and Ipratropium Bromide. so I supposed to take this meds. has anyone had this Symptoms with coughing???

Thanks!

Old 02-19-2006, 11:28 AM   #2
(female)

DLayne HB User
Re: Lupus with Coughing

I also have alot of coughing ....it started about a month ago. I am also on Plaquenil and Prednisone. About 3 weeks ago I went into a flare and they raised my prednisone...now Im back down to 5mg a day. But I still have a nagging cough. I dont see my rheumy till April....but I cant keep coughing like this....so Im calling tomorrow. Last night I had to take codeine cough syrup....my throat is so raw right now it hurts to swallow. I guess Ill see what he says tomorrow...Ill let you know.

Take care Dlayne

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-20-2006, 08:56 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

goldenwings HB User

Hello gbm,