It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2006, 08:40 AM   #1
(female)

kgbbsc7 HB User
Possible Lupus Diagnosis?

I am in the process of being diagnosed with Lupus. My skin biopsies came back inconclusive but suggestive of Lupus. The blood work should be back hopefully Monday (Tues at the lateest).

I am 24 and I have always been a VERY healthy person. Auto-immune run in my mothers side of the family. Also, I am an accountant and I think the stress of tax season brought this on.

Is it possible to try to control this with diet, excercise and lifestyle changes?? I really don't want to take a ton of medication to control something if I can do it by myself??

I know I will need medication if I do get a flair up, but for everyday prevention can I do it w/o meds?

Any advice anyone can give would be appreciated.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-10-2006, 10:22 AM   #2
(female)

cookingmom HB User
Re: Possible Lupus Diagnosis?

Hi, I am sorry you are having problems. If it does turn out to be lupus - please hook yourself up with a good rheumatologist. Your treatment will depend on what way the lupus is affecting you. It is possible when you are not flaring to be medicine free. Each case is different.

Let us know what your bloodwork shows and how you are doing. Stay out of the sun !

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-10-2006, 12:58 PM   #3
Facilitator
(female)

VeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB User
Re: Possible Lupus Diagnosis?

Dear kgbbsc, Welcome. Unfortunately there is no known prevention or cure for lupus. On the other hand, sun avoidance (as cookingmom just said) and medication can do much to control, in many people, the aberrant immune system that's in overdrive.