It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2006, 08:31 PM   #1
(female)

Shoe Fiend HB User
Question Photosensitivity and Lupus

Hi! I am a newbie to this site. I have been diagnosed with Lupus for the past 4 years, but had symptoms for several years before. I have joint pain, hair loss, weight gain, skin rashes, and extreme photosensitivity. I was wondering if anyone has had any successful treatments for the photosensity and skin rashes. Plaquenil helped the joint pain and steroids have not touched my skin problems at all. I have the discoid rashes on my arms and chest and the rest of my body has purple and red rashes even though they never see the light of day!!! I do find that flourescent lights are harsher than natural sunlight in my case.

Thank you for any information!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-29-2006, 08:45 PM   #2
(female)

dwallech HB User
Re: Photosensitivity and Lupus

I have lupus and I have extreme photosensitivity. I have to wear sunglasses even when in the car. I also cannot take any heat either. I still have a line on my legs from 1993 which was from being in the sun at a ballgame with my sock lines are still showing. I have found nothing to help except trying to avoid the heat and the sun. Each year I seem to get worse. Any help from others would be appreciated as I too have this problem

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-29-2006, 09:57 PM   #3
Facilitator
(female)

VeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB User

Hi. Have your drs. tried more aggressive treatments, beyond Plaquenil? Like Dapsone, the gold compounds, methotrexate, etc? I've seen quite a few drugs mentioned in DLE articles, for people for whom Plaquenil isn't adequate.