It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2007, 01:37 PM   #1
(female)

enigma3 HB User
Difficulty with blood draw

Hi everyone,

I am sort of concerned lately about my health, but it is probably just my paranoia setting in again temporarily, since I seem to have been trying to fight off a mild flu bug (again.. it seems to happen frequently since I work in a hospital).

Anyway, my question is, have any of you had problems with someone being able to draw blood when you are at a lab? I had to get it drawn yesterday for my primary care doc., and the guy who tried to draw it couldn't get anything to come out when he tried it the first time. And then when he tried the other arm, it finally came out but was slow at first.. I asked him if that happens very often with people, and he said no. That is what freaked me out, because I thought it was not that uncommon. I had it happen a few times actually a few years ago, when I was in the hospital for losing a lot of blood from a surgery (long story). Whenever they tried to draw my blood, it was really difficult. And even awhile after I had been out of the hospital (and still somewhat anemic), it was difficult for one of the phlebotomists.

Anyway, I am hoping maybe this is something other people truly do experience some of the time, and I am even wondering if this might have anything to do with the body being a little under the weather? Or possibly is it related to having the autoimmune problems? I definitely wasn't feeling terrific yesterday (when I got the blood drawn), and besides feeing like I had a mild flu bug, I hadn't had nearly enough sleep the night before..

Thanks to any of you who can shed some light on this for me, it is greatly appreciated!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-10-2007, 02:26 PM   #2
(female)

NHCasey HB User
Re: Difficulty with blood draw