It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2007, 06:11 AM   #1
(female)

lvarma HB User
need help with lab results!

Hi Everyone,
This is my first time posting here - my mother had lupus and every year I also get tested (I'm 35). I just got back my results, and they are as follow:
RDW=15.1 (the normal range is 11-15)
ANA=positive
TITER=1:320
PATTERN=Homogenous

I have an appt on the 21st with a rheumotologist, but am of course anxious. I don't understand what the RDW result could mean in terms of a lupus diagnosis. Also, can my pattern be homogenous if I have lupus? I'm pretty sure that I will be diagnosed with it, as my mother had it, but just wondering if there is any chance that I might not have it???

thanks all,
lisa

Old 06-12-2007, 11:02 AM   #2
(female)

laura3377 HB User
Re: need help with lab results!

I can tell you your ANA is elevated enough to suggest something is going on. I haven't been diagnosed with Lupus but I also had an ANA of 1:320 - mine was Speckled pattern. This is the only test I have had come back positive besides an Anti-SSA so Dr.'s really aren't sure what is going on as my symptoms aren't enough to diagnose me with anything. Anyhow, the RDW is elevated a lot of times with iron deficiency so you may want to get checked for this.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-12-2007, 12:14 PM   #3
(female)

lvarma HB User

thanks so much for your response.

Old 06-13-2007, 02:20 AM   #4
Facilitator
(female)

VeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB User