It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2007, 02:47 AM   #1
(female)

thinkfast HB User
Unhappy Very high ANA titer results and nucleolar pattern: lupus or scleroderma?

Hi, This is my first post, so I have a lot of details here. Sorry for the novel...
I have been undergoing extensive testing for the past 8 months. Had walking pneumonia in February, 2007. Lung nodules (calcified and noncalcified) as well as bilateral hilar adenopathy and axillary adenopathy were discovered on chest xray. PET scan showed SUV in the hilar and axillary nodes, but not in the lung nodules. Seven months later, had a second PET scan, which showed no change in the nodules or adenopathy. Had some axillary lymph nodes biopsied. Results were benign reactive lymph node with sinus histiocytosis and lymphofollicular hyperplasia. Sugeon recommended lung surgery to get answers.

PCP wanted to do more bloodwork first. Results of bloodwork are that several tests for Epstein Barr Virus showed up positive. Rheumatoid Factor showed up positive at "14H". Most concerning is that my ANA (choice) ANA IFA was positive. And Anti-Nuclear AB (IFA) titer was "1:1280 or greater" (it doesn't list the specific result), which I understand is very high. The pattern was nucleolar, which I believe is more likely to be scleroderma.