It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2009, 04:34 PM   #1
(female)

LeePKULaurLUPUS HB User
New to Forums, new to Lupus

Im new to this whole forum thing, but i needed to find people who are going through what my sister is going through. My sister is 24 years old and she was just diagnosed with Lupus yesterday. My family and I are so close and i want to do something for her, or i need answers, or i need knowledge of what Lupus is. Is it painful? Can anyone get it? I know i need to be there for her and i need to be strong for her and im trying the best i can, as is the rest of my family but in the end, i really just want to know if she is going to be ok? If anyone here is a family member to someone who has Lupus, or someone with Lupus themself can offer any advice, or just any words of wisdom, i need a little help here and if anyone is willing to give it, im all ears.

Thanks

Old 03-10-2009, 06:00 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

VeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB User
Re: New to Forums, new to Lupus

Lee (etc.!), hi & welcome. I'm sorry your sister was diagnosed. I hope she's seeing a competent rheumatologist & getting treatment appropriate to her symptoms.

Problem is, lupus covers SUCH a wide spectrum, and that spectrum can be fluid. Problems for some people (the luckiest ones) cluster in skin, with perhaps fatigue & arthritis. Others in the intermediate group have "skin-plus": the foregoing, plus things like anemia, GI & urinary problems, etc. In the most serious group, people have full-blown SYSTEMIC disease, in which major organ involvement (heart, lungs, kidneys, brain, etc.) occur.