It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2009, 04:39 PM   #1
(female)

amethystma HB User
Question Diagnosed this week

Greetings,

I'm new to this and scared.

What is one key piece of info or a suggestion that has been helpful to you during your journey with lupus.

I would really appreciate a sense of what I may expect.

Knowing is better than not knowing.

Thanks to each of you.

Amethyst

Old 04-24-2009, 09:42 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

VeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB UserVeeJ HB User
Re: Diagnosed this week

Amethyst, hi & a big welcome! Several things helped me. I wanted some sense of the doctor I ended up seeing. Reading lupus hardcovers made me see just how good he is. Ans I needed to see what I was up against, whether I had any hope for stability. Look in your local library for hardcovers written for patients. One excellent author is Dr. Daniel Wallace; another is Dr. Robert Lahita.

Posting here has made me feel part of a community who UNDERSTANDS.

Starting TREATMENT (finally!) and feeling improvement over the months restored some confidence.

When were you Dx'ed? What meds are you taking? You didn't describe your symptoms, but I hope they are milder ones. Many people stay subacute; and even those who have more acute problems can benefit greatly with meds and ongoing monitoring and care.

I hope you keep posting: you'll find automatic acceptance here. Our families & friends may not understand us so well (how could they?!), but the people here can & do. So I hope you post more soon. Meanwhile, warm wishes to you, from Vee

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-25-2009, 04:28 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

goldenwings HB User
Smile Re: Diagnosed this week

Hiya Amethyst,