It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2003, 09:54 AM   #1

Megan31 HB User
Post don't know what to do

I was diagnosed with Lupus when I was 17, right before my high school graduation. I learned to "deal" with it over that summer, and started college in the fall of 2000. I came to school fooling myself, thinking that I was fine. And now here I am at the end of my third year of college, and I'm just beginning to realize that over the past three years I really have been fooling myself. I never sought out any support except that from my family and friends--most of whom were from high school who saw me through my worst times, when I was just finding out what was going on with my body. And they honestly have been so supportive, especially my mom, but they just don't get it. I can't express to them the overwhelming feelings that this disease has brought on to me... the loss of control, being tired ALL THE TIME, the pain in every little place,feeling like I'm losing my mind... everything!!! I don't know what it is, I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I am at that age where college is going to be over soon, and its going to be time to find a job. All my friends are really stressed out and like me, trying to get their **** together... but I feel like when I try to express to them that I just don't feel good, they see me as a drama queen, or just wanting attention. That's not the type of person I am. I hated telling my roommate and my friends about this disease that impedes on my daily life so often-I HATE HATE HATE being so vulnerable. But I had to explain to them why I was always sleeping when they called, or what that weird medicine was that I was taking, or why I was always going home for doctors appointments. And I love my friends, they have become my surrogate family here while I'm 3 hours away from home. They o