It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2009, 11:08 AM   #1
(female)

laotzu04 HB User
Newbie w question: Does Lupus show up on MRI lumbar spine?

Ive been having terrible burning pain in my lower back radiating down my left leg. My left hip has muscle waste. There is a huge indentation w small nodule also there and the dermatologist thought it may be early morphea but I also had a cortisone injection in that hip and the punch biopsy was unable to determine if the nodule was caused by injection or morphea (cells werent characteristic of morphea but unable to rule out) as it was focal fat necrosis.

The past few years have been a medical nightmare. The past few months neurological symptoms have gotten a lot worse. I'm a teacher, I have a master's degree and at times I cant even think of the correct words to say or I jumble them up together. I have headaches every day. My vision is distorted, especially the left side. I was sent to a neurologist a few weeks back who said I seem neurologically healthy. MRI brain and EEG were to rule out MS and neuro said I dont have MS.

Ive been to see many doctors in this diagnostic phase. My dermatologist and rheumatologist feel I have Lupus and have done bloodwork to back it up on several occasions. My RH factor is also positive and was told my inflammatory markers are sky high. And I have a lot of the physical symptoms of lupus which are affecting nearly every body system.

My question is whether or not Lupus would show up on an MRI? My MRI head was normal (I guess_they said no evidence of MS) and my MRI lumbar Spine done Tuesday was also normal (bone dr suspects nerve damage being the cause of muscle waste in that left hip and my terrible burning pain,tingling, stabbing etc).

My Rheumatologist said Im wasting away