It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lupus Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2010, 06:17 PM   #1
(female)

Trish H HB User
Unbearable pain in my bottocks, thighs and calves

Hi, I am a newbie here but am on another general forum where I live, so the layout is pretty much like ours.
My name is Trish, I am female, married with one daughter and one G-daughter.

I have SLE and MCTD and the pain that is in my bottocks, thighs and calves are unbearable when I sit or lay on a bed/couch.
I was hospitalized last week for fear of what might be a heart attack. Heart problems is something I haven't had so I wasn't that concerned it would be my heart.
My mid chest and mid stomach was hurting like a squeezing sensation, sweaty, chills and very clammy. I had a very bad taste in my mouth that I couldn't describe but had a faint hint of alcohol.
I had 1 1/2 glasses of wine the evening before with dinner and this attack happened 12 hours later.
When I got to the ER, they did standard blood work and normal triage procedures. They gave me an injection of Demerol and something for nausea.
When my blood work was back (seemed like just a few minutes) the ER doctor said he would have to admit me because my Liver enzymes were over 500 and should be around 10-20.
I told them I have SLE/MCTD and they were pretty clueless and I educated them a little about the diseases. They were convinced I was a binge drinker and that I use street drugs or narcotics on a regular basis.
My primary doctor is in another town, about 75 miles away so we didn't want to chance that drive with HA symptoms.
It took a full day to convince them I wasn't either a binge drinker or drug user of any kind (other than what my doctor gives me).