It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lyme Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2004, 08:23 PM   #1
(female)

Rubeckia HB User
A fellow Lymes sufferer

Hello, I found this board today while searching for diet advice for the Lymes patient and I am so happy-read thru most of the posts and am comforted that I'm not alone in this.

My history: I took a deer tick out of the back of my left knee on Oct 30, 2003. I'm a returning adult college student and I was working in the Nursing Dept at the time, so a couple of the instructors insisted I see my family dr. The next day, he looked at the bite and then got out a book and showed me pix of the bulls eye rash and told me if it showed up to call immediately, but that he thought I was over reacting and sent me home. From the moment I felt the tick in my leg, the bite site was painful! The night of Nov 14, the back of my leg started itching and my husband told me it looked like a bulls eye rash was forming. Called the dr early in the am and went to see him. His comment, I was hoping for a much more classic rash. He put me on 200 mg Doxy for 3 weeks. Early the next day, we left for a weekend bus trip sponcered by the college-again many of the Instructers for the Nursing Dept were along. By this time, my rash had blistered in the center, was swollen and I could hardly walk-not the best situation for walking around NYC! I put a cold water bottle on my leg for about half the trip and was able to hike around the city, but was exhausted when we got to our hotel room. My symptoms were much like everyone else's here-headache, joint pain, short term memory loss, and I seemed to get better until the 3rd week of the Doxy when I must have started Herxing. Went back to the dr who ordered blood titers, and with the results in hand told me, basically it was all my imagination. Then on Dec 1 on my way home from school, I t-boned a 1