It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lyme Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2004, 09:13 AM   #1
(male)

Don33 HB User
Lyme and Diabetes

First hello everyone,

I found this forum looking for answers on the almighty internet.
I am a military veteran, and while doing a training exercise in the forests of Tenn. in 1998/99 I was infected with lyme disease. We were out training for about 2 weeks, and the ticks were wild. My soldiers and I kept pulling the obvious ones off that we could see, most hadn't even grabbed hold yet. We ended our training and went back to our homes. Well one of the first thing a troop does when he/she goes home is take a shower and get cleaned up. So I left all my gear on the back patio and took off what clothes I could. I proceeded to the shower and while getting cleaned up, I asked my wife to help me check my body over for any ticks. Well we found 2 of them holding on strong. One on my hip area and the other in a very hidden place. After removing them, I didn't think much about it until about a month later.

I awoke one early morning getting ready to go do my morning Physical training, still dark in the house. Well as I rolled out of bed my left thigh was itching and not just a normal itching, after trying to figure out if I got bit by something I turned the light on, and what a surprise I saw. My whole upper leg was like a big hive, all bumpy and red. I went to the military clinic that morning. They gave me some Benadryl said it was an allergic reaction to something new I was using. Hmm, the wife didn't change anything, no new products in the house, never been allergic to anything new before. Well the Bendryl didn't do a darn thing. This rash spread over the next 2 days to cover my entire body to include my face which is when I really got scared.