It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lyme Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2006, 09:33 PM   #1
(female)

SickOfTicks HB User
New To Board, but not to Lymes

This is my first time posting to the board. I have been here for months reading other Lymes posts and always thought I should take part instead of just reading.
I have had Lymes since August 2004, but was not diagnosed til April 2005. At first it was my fault, not knowing anything about Lymes. I got a small, nickel-sized red rash that was clear in the center that expanded til it was about the size of my fist. It did look like ringworm at first. After about 8 weeks, it began to fade and another rash began on one of the leading edges of the old rash. It, too, expanded to fist size. My family doctor was just sure I had lymes and started me on doxy and did the Elisa which came back negative. He kept me on doxy for 3 weeks to be safe, then that was it. I still had the rash and yet another one was beginning to start on the leading edge of the second one. In January, 2005, I went to a dermatologist who refused to consider Lymes and thought it was a fungus because he said that if it was Lymes, the rash wouldn't have stayed that long and kept repeating. He did 3 different fungus tests, 1 of which was a biopsy and they all came back negative. He wanted to put me on some meds that could potentially damage my liver so I decided against it since I didn't have fungus anyway. I wasn't sure what it was, but I was sure it wasn't fungus.