It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lyme Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2007, 10:33 PM   #1
(male)

Rodney99 HB User
New Lyme (maybe)

I am new to this board. Hello everybody. I'm undergoing treatment for possible lyme with doxy at 200 mg 2x day. I did the Igenex tests and the co-infections panel was negative. My western blot results are: IGM bands 23-25 IND..34 IND..41 +++. IGG bands 39 IND and 41 +++. all others negative. Does this sound like a probably Lyme case? I did have a bullseye rash prior to these symptoms. I live in Georgia and we supposedly don't live in an endemic area. Can being on antibiotics while drawing blood for a western blot affect the test?
Any thoughts on this appreciated.

Old 11-17-2007, 05:46 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

zandvoort HB User
Re: New Lyme (maybe)

Hi Rodney- welcome to the board! I am not a pro at reading the WB- mine was negative- but Ticker will help you. I am guessing since someone put you on treatment it is positive. She will stress the importance of seeing a Lyme Literate Doctor (LLMD). There is a huge controversy in the Lyme world about how to treat. Some docs think a month or less does the job, even though the symptoms persist. Others who have studied Lyme and treat patients for Lyme more specifically, feel that you should be treated until the symptoms go away. Otherwise, you never really got rid of it. The longer you go untreated, the longer it takes to get rid of. Often people feel better after a month of treatment but then a month later feel horrible. Please do research on the web. Itis extremely unlikely you will get a knowledgeable story from your doc if s/he is not an LLMD.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-17-2007, 06:59 AM   #3
Inactive
(female)

onmyway HB User

Hi rodney,