It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lyme Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2009, 09:25 AM   #1
(female)

worriedwife08 HB User
I have a theory on Lyme vs. MS, etc

I am not a doctor nor do I have training in the medical field. What I am about to say was put together in my brain based on research I have done and personal experience.

Multiple Sclerosis (MS) means "many lesions". What causes "many lesions"? The doctors can not tell you what causes them. They (i.e. MS) are a "disease" that doctors treat the best they can with medications to relieve symptoms when they have no other explanation as to what has caused these symptoms and lesions that appear on the brain and/or spine. They don't just appear. SOMETHING has caused them. These lesions are, in simple terms, scar tissue from the myelin sheath that protects your nerves trying to heal back after being attacked by your own immune system. SOMETHING has set this off. My opinion is that "multiple sclerosis" (THE DISEASE) is not really a disease, but is a symptom (the many lesions on your spine or brain are symptoms) of an underlying condition. Some people are "lucky", and are found to have Lyme disease or some other disease that tests positive that can be treated and these lesions and symptoms go away. Yes, that person had "multiple sclerosis" (because they did have lesions on the spine and/or brain, that is unrefutable by MRI), but the "MS is cured" (which doctors say they can not do).
So what I'm trying to say is, anyone with lesions on their spine/back has "multiple sclerosis". But my opinion is that multiple sclerosis (the symptoms, not the disease) can be cured IF the cause of it is found. Those who are on life-long treatment for MS simply have an underlying disease that has not been found.