It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lymphedema Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2005, 11:48 AM   #1
(female)

brownowl HB User
lymphedema of hand

In July I was in a car accident and almost lost my arm. As of Monday, my physical therapy is done and the doctors say that about 30% use of my hand is all that I will have left. The fingers are tremendously swollen and stiff. The biggest problem is the hand is really swollen. I have tried and am wearing a compression glove to try and relieve the fluid/swelling; however, this is not helping. I have a hematoma above my elbow from the accident -- the doctors will be removing it next week. Will this help?? Both doctors don't think it will help the hand. I've got to do something. I'm a computer programmer and my hands are my life.

Old 10-29-2005, 01:09 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

kehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB User
Re: lymphedema of hand

Did the physical therapy focus on trying to relieve some of that swelling, or were they working on other stuff? Maybe an occupational therapist? I wouldn't settle for just stopping there, though. Get a second opinion, or more therapy, or something! Don't let your doctor just say that that's it, if you feel like it could be better. You know your body. If you feel like you have room for improvement, make sure your doctor facilitates that improvement for you. But also be patient. Recovery from catastrophic accidents can take a long time. Best of luck to you.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-30-2005, 07:48 AM   #3
(female)

brownowl HB User