It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Lymphomas Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2004, 02:51 PM   #1

nunez67 HB User
"Shotty" supraclavicular nodes

Hi, I'm new with a specific question about "shotty" supraclavicular nodes. Does anyone know if they are of concern?

I've read that nodes that feel like buckshot, hence the term "shotty", are usually reacting to a virus. But then I've read that palpable supraclavicular nodes are usually of concern b/c they can't be felt at all on most people. I am very thin, though, which may be why mine are palpable.

The reason I ask is because my GP has been able to feel my supraclavicular nodes for the last six months. I've had 2 rounds of normal blood work and 1 normal chest/abdominal/pelvic CT. I do have systemic symptoms of low-grade fever (on and off for a year), weight loss (50 lbs in 15 months, but I was trying to lose weight, and it's leveled off in the past 9 months), fatigue, and occasional mild night sweats. However, I think it's more likely that I'm fighting off viruses on a regular basis (I have small children) than it is that I have lymphoma.

However, my GP did recently send me to a surgeon to get the nodes biopsied. Much to my surprise when I got there, the surgeon said he couldn't feel any nodes, and therefore wouldn't biopsy anything. Since that appointment, however, I've been able to feel one small hard node on each side in the supraclavicular area, and I assume they represent "shotty" nodes. They feel like small beads.

I do have an appointment with a new GP tomorrow to have the nodes rechecked before I call the surgeon back to ask his opinion. I'm inclined to trust the surgeon's advice over the GP's, but I do want to make sure that I'm not overlooking something serious.

Any thoughts or advice? Thanks in advance.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-29-2004, 07:54 PM   #2

momopandj HB User