It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2004, 07:49 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

wishn HB User
Estrogen Patch, weight gain, Fibromyalgia

Hi everyone!

This is my first time at the menopause site, happy to interact with everyone. To tell you a little about myself...

1. Full hystorectomy 15 years ago. Taking low dose estrogen on and off...mostly off.

2. Fibromyalgia 2 years ago. (Although I believe I have been living with it for closer to 12 or 13 years due to symptoms. But diag just 2 because of how doctors (some) feel about whether it "is" or "isn't"...

Do any of you experience both? What do you do for it if so? Meds for both, etc.

Estrogen patch users: Good results? I'm concerned about weight gain and hair loss. These are two of the first side effects that appear for me with different drugs.

I do have hot flashes very often and sleep problems, etc. Sleep problems are of course results of both Fibro and forced meno, but I do know the hot flashes come from the meno.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Hugs and smiles,
Annie

Has anyone else experienced

Old 08-09-2004, 07:39 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

twanger HB User
Re: Estrogen Patch, weight gain, Fibromyalgia

I am going through meno. In fact, I haven't had a period in over a year. I also have fibro. I haven't taken anything for either of them yet. The meno symptoms have been bad and, at times, it is hard to distinguish between symptoms of fibro and meno. I don't know any medicine that works for both. Some say that an antidepressant will work but I don't like the side effects. I think, and hope, that CBT or some kind of therapy will lower stress levels and maybe help us to deal with some of these symptoms or help them to disappear.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-10-2004, 04:49 PM   #3

JOYEVE HB User