It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2004, 03:27 PM   #1

virtous HB User
Mother's menopause experience and daughter's same?

Hi
I am new to this menopause board. I have been reading this board for about a week and now I am seeing that I am not the only person going thru all of these symptons. I am 50 yrs old and I just feel awful, I think that I have all of the symptons listed.
I asked my mother how was menopause for her and she told me that she didn't have any symptons, she had no problems at all. But I always heard that the daughter's menopause and mother's menopause experience would be similar. Everyone keeps telling me to talk to my mother about how it was for her and it should be the same for me. But so far my experience isn't anything like hers. Has anyone else heard about this?

Last edited by virtous; 09-29-2004 at 03:29 PM.

Old 09-29-2004, 03:54 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Hopefully HB User
Re: Mother's menopause experience and daughter's same?

My mother is from the old school who believe that women should just suffer silently.

This is a sore subject for me because of the horrendous symptoms that I have experienced during this "season" in my life; It's sad to think that my mother did not warn me of these days. Matter of fact it was my dad who told me that she'd gone through menopause. When I told my dad that I was going through perimenopause he stated that he hoped it wasn't as bad as my mother's. My mother did say that she went through menopause between the age of 43-45 (after I inquired).