It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2006, 12:56 PM   #1
(female)

glamdais HB User
Question Finally got levels tested. Does this sound right?

Hi All,

I've been posting and reading for the two years when I started having symptoms. Like many of you here I've been to a bunch of doctors who have all told me it was in my head, or go home and take prozac, or even if it's perimenopause you just have to tough it out, or I'm too young (I was 42 at the start, I'm 44 now).

I finally found a OBGYN office where all the docs. are female. At least they listened to me and said many of my symptoms could be perimenopause and that I wasn't too young. They wanted to do bloodwork to test FSH and Estradiol which was great because no other OBGYN had even offered to do this.

The tests were done on the 51st day after the start of my last period (I'm averaging 50-60 days between periods now). My Estradiol was 35 and my FSH was 41.9. They told me this was actually in the menopausal range therefore they suspected I was WELL into the perimenopausal period. I almost wanted to cry when they said this because someone finally believed me!

This is the first test I've had done so I'm wondering if you wise women are in agreement with their assessment given these numbers. Not that I don't trust the docs. , but I've learned more on this board than I have from 5 docs. at this point. I value your opinion.

Thanks and good wishes to all.

Judy

Old 06-09-2006, 08:44 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

katidid95 HB User
Re: Finally got levels tested. Does this sound right?

Judy: