It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2006, 02:38 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

Linma2428 HB User
any advice on ativan

I haven't been here in awhile. Thought maybe some of you would have an answer.

First off I am in perimenopause. Even though I am 50 haven't made it through to menopause yet.

I have been having panic and depression during times of the month. Even got so mad at my husband made him leave and spend the night in a motel. He was adding to my anxiety by drinking when I ask him not to. He can be a real mess if he drinks.

I have a prescription for Ativan its .50. Anyone take this? This is my first time taking this med. I did take valium 4 years ago and had terrible night terrors so stopped taking it. I am trying this one and thought cutting it in half might help. But it seems like such a small amount don't know if it will do any good. Just wondering if anyone has experience with this?

Linda

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-14-2006, 03:21 PM   #2
(female)

newphase HB User
Re: any advice on ativan

Hi Linda! I took ativan, the same dosage as you have. I didn't take it every day, just when I was particularly anxious. It helped me to fall and stay asleep. I just recently stopped taking it however, after seeing my gyn. She suggested that I take an anti-depressant since using ativan is really only a "bandaid" and works for the moment. She told me that all of the changes you go through during menopause change your chemistry. Ativan won't help that, but an anti-depressant would. She also mentioned that ativan can be habit forming as well. I found it useful when I took it, but my symptoms have not gone away so I am ready to try the anti-depressant.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-14-2006, 08:33 PM   #3
(female)

1awesomegranny HB User

Hi Linma!