It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2006, 11:56 AM   #1
(female)

despairing HB User
Re: Can we talk about husbands?

Hi, I'm new to this so bear with me please. My husband has no hobbies or interests outside work apart from watching the occasional football (UK) match and going to the pub. He is currently on a slack period at work and will help around the house, start dinner and do the weekly shop.

I enjoy my job and have other interests that I would like to spend time on but find myself doing chores around the house and spending evenings in front of the TV because my husband can't watch on his own. Even when I move to another room to do ironing or something else, he comes to find me and moans that I am not talking to him.

I am mid meno at the moment and have just had a vaginal hysterectomy. For the last couple of years I have felt that I would like to live on my own so that I can come home from work (stay late if necessary without recriminations) and do what I want to do rather than cook dinner straightaway and watch TV.

I suggest that while your husband is playing golf you find something that really interests you, then when he wants to spend time and you are doing something else he will be the one left out. Also if his clothes aren't ready and dinner on the table as he expects he may well get a little resentful or even jealous of your other interests and look at you differently. Of course this could all backfire and you both may realise that you are not really living 'together' after all.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-24-2006, 10:14 AM   #2
(female)

danigirl HB User