It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2009, 04:17 PM   #1
(female)

kandm79 HB User
Is it a Hotflash?

Hi Everyone

I am new to this and writing on behalf of my mom. Even though I am relaying the information to her, I hope that people donít feel that its not important. I am her only child and worried about her. She just started having these episodes. She is 51, and not diagnosed as peri or menoÖ irregular periods, lengthily periods and now 1 missed period. She had a hot sensation starting below her neck to her feet. The 2nd time it was the same, she didnít lose any feeling, no numbness, and no chest pain. She did however, want the TV off, she couldnít stand the sound of it. It didnít last long. She almost feels a chill first, before the hot flash, then she feels cool after it too. She also had a funny feeling inside of her, like ants walking all over her, Iíve read some people say internal shakes.
Another time the feeling started from the feet up. She isnít sweating, just a little flushed. Her heart rate is in the upper 90ís. I feel itís a hot flash, and asked an on call GYN Dr tooÖand they think it is as well. But of course I am the worried daughter. I hope this all made sense.

Kelly

Old 02-03-2009, 04:30 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

writeleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB Userwriteleft HB User
Re: Is it a Hotflash?

Kandm79,

You are a sweetheart, concerned about your mother. Your question makes perfect sense.

It sounds very much like hot flashes, and that would make sense, with your mother's age, and other symptoms (the irregular periods, etc.).