It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Menopause Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2009, 11:58 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

kittywitty HB Userkittywitty HB User
Hormones - When should I test?

I'm currently in perimenopause. I've been using a progesterone cream for a few months to help bring my level up, which was very low the last time I was tested. I'm going to get my levels checked again in a month or so and I was wondering at what time during my cycle should I get the blood work done? Right after ovulation? During my period or right after? I've tried researching this extensively and haven't found any answers. The only information that I've found is something that says not to take any hormones near the time when the blood is being drawn, which makes sense. For example, if you get the test done in the morning, take the hormones after the blood is drawn. Thanks for any and all replies.

Last edited by kittywitty; 03-31-2009 at 12:11 PM.

Old 03-31-2009, 01:14 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User
Re: Hormones - When should I test?

When I had mine done I was on bcp so I had it drawn the day before I started back on the active pills after the placebo ones. That's all I can offer.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-01-2009, 05:50 AM   #3
Veteran
(female)

herekittykitty HB User

When I had mine checked with the saliva test, it was supposed to be done between the days of 18-21 of your cycle.

I also had this done by a blood draw. It did not matter on the blood draw which day you went because they have different lab ranges for where you are in your cycle. They had ranges for luteal, follicular, midcycle, pregnant, postmenopausal, contraceptives.

Old 04-01-2009, 10:42 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)