It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Mental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2011, 08:43 PM   #1
(female)

adelaise HB User
Conversion disorder???

About 5months ago, I woke up with tingling and numbness (like when your foot "falls asleep") from my waist down. I could not walk, and was in pain. My parents took me to the hospital, where I was seen and over the course of 3 days had an MRI with contrast, EMG, Evoke Potential, EEG, CBC blood tests. Upon examination, I could not tell the difference between sharp and dull anywhere from my waist and below. I could not feel pressure (like a sock, or a hand on my leg). Putting a blanket on would make the tingling 10x worse. I was put on Gabbapentin, and sent home, believing that this "neuropathy" would go away in 4-6 weeks time. Over the summer, I worked as a camp counselor, and through physical therapy was able to walk short distances. 6 weeks after the hospital, I still had tingling and extreme numbness in my feet, and abnormal sensation all the way up to my waist. It feels like when I touch my leg, it isn't my leg. I don't have that perception. My balance was horrible, and improved only slightly over the summer. I live close to Stanford, supposedly one of the best hospitals in the world. I have also been up to UCSF, leading number 4 in neurology. Neither hospital has a clue what is going on with me. It is 6 months later now, and I continue to have abnormal sensation in my legs, and numb feet. I developed twitching attacks about 3 months in, and have been so bad that I have been ambulanced to the hospital from a school dance. I am up to 2400 mg. of Gabbapentin, .5mg of Ativan (when needed for the attacks) and codeine with tylenol (standardized dose) for chronic back pain, that persisted and got worse since being dispatched from the hospital. The idea of a conversion disorder came up about 4 months in, and I