It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Mental Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2012, 12:19 AM   #1
(male)

Squiffle HB User
Newbody: An Introduction - Coming Here After A Bad Incident That I Caused

Greetings to all. I'm new here. This post will probably be a long one, but I was requested by a friend to try journaling tonight. I've never done it before. So maybe I will try now.

I'm 24 years old. I live in Chicago with my girlfriend of nearly one and a half years. My ultimate life goal is to become an independent filmmaker of animated and live-action features, with a side career as a baritone vocalist crooning his way through the Great American Songbook and Operatic Arias of the World.

Overall, I would describe my life as being very happy but punctuated with moments of frightening anxiety and crushing fear. A small comment, a gesture, someone's inflection or tone, a miniscule thing will set me off and I will immediately start hating myself. The hate for myself builds and builds to the point where I want to "punish" myself for existing. So I create drama and do bad things like telling a loved one "go **** yourself" for no reason so I can "punish" myself with the consequences of my drama. Sometimes, this hate manifests itself into me hitting myself, punching myself, throwing things, and screaming.

Following? Confusing, I know.

I graduated in May 2010 with a degree in film and have been unable to find work in my chosen field. I would love to work as a freelance editor or animator for a company but jobs like that are few and far between. Since I am living with my girlfriend, I find that the pressure is higher than ever. I love her more than I have ever loved anyone. I want to be able to support her and build a life with her. She wants to marry me and have kids with me and live out the rest of her days with me.

But I scream. I hit. I punch through walls.